Host Oh yeah, uh huh. Look at me and my bad self.

I made cuppie cakes for Katherine's brownie troop meeting on Monday night. I just have to frost them. They are devil's food with chocolate sour cream frosting. I hope her troop appreciates it, because I hardly ever bake cuppie cakes, because they are my favorites. A cuppie cake is so much better than a plain old ordinary slice of cake. A cuppie cake says, "I am special and no, you may not have a bite." I really love cuppie cakes.

Also I love buying things. I really do. I like grocery shopping, even. It's the ultimate. The whole making of a list, finding all the items, crossing them off the list in an orderly fashion, putting all the items away. Yee ha, it's an OCD dream. I wish I could buy more stuff. There's a lot of stuff I'd like to have. Like these nifty comforters for my kids beds. We have a drafty old house and I want my kidlets to be warm.

Also I'd like a sewing machine. Mia sews a lot. I want to. Really. I am just not sure I can get a good machine for cheap. Wal Mart has some for under $100 which, really, would probably be fine to start with but I don't want to drop that kind of cash on a machine that will break. Ack. Decisions, decisions.

Maybe I just want to buy stuff because my birthday is coming and I won't get anything. Well, that's not true. My sister got me a really neat little thing from Eddie Bauer... it's a corkboard in the middle and it has space for 6 pictures, three on each side. Because I love pictures. I took in 13 rolls of film to Sam's Club today to be developed. All of them were from the last three months or so. I take a lot of pictures. And this round will set me back about $85. Which is a lot. If I would remember to take them in one at a time it wouldn't be so bad. But I am forgetful and then I end up paying for it.

I hope I get fired. Really. I like working for her and all but I want my time back. Which leads me to believe I may never actually pursue a real career, since I like being home so much. There is so much to do here, I don't know what women who work do. How do they do it all? I'd like to believe they don't because that would help me justify my staying home, but I know some of them must actually get it all done.

I want to be able to sew and craft, and run my errands while the kids are in school. I want to be able to read books and maybe take a French class again. I want to make dinner and do my chores and be a stay at home wife. I really like it. A lot, actually, especially now that my kidlets are older and not in need of constant supervision (although sometimes their behaviour isn't so great while being unsupervised, as evidenced by the Ho Hos ground into the couch in the basement yesterday!) things run pretty darn smoothly at the AlternaHouse. At least they do when no one (read: Michael) gets in my way.

One thing that is tons easier when he is gone is housekeeping. My house is always clean when he's not here. We run a tight ship, me and the kiddos. They have actually kept their rooms clean for more than 24 hours, which is unreal. They are playing Legos right now, preparing themselves for school tomorrow. They have been in bed on time all week, too. Yeah, as much as I love my husband, schedules are easier to keep when he's not here.

He hasn't emailed me in two whole days and I am beginning to panic. I know he's fine and all but I hate not hearing from him at all. All sorts of crazy scenarios run through my mind. Bah, can't let my mind go there. It's too much.

Our weather is supposed to be in the 50's this week. Yippee! I can't wait... I am going to try to take the kids to the park after school on Tuesday. They defiantly need to get out and get some fresh air. The problem with winter here is that usually the temps are so bitter cold that any outdoor activity has to be restricted to something more vital to our existence than making snowmen. It's pretty stinky.

Gotta get the kids in the shower so we can have dinner and go to bed. The Practice is supposed to be new this week and if the TV Guide has lied, I may have to get medieval on their asses.